Karelian magic: HÄIVE sign with Eisenwald and reveal new album

As an expression of sole protagonist Janne ‘Varjosielu’ Väätäinen’s desire to explore themes of nature, despair and oblivion through the medium of folk-influenced black metal, Häive has been in existence for the best part of fifteen years. Across numerous demos, two multi-artist split releases, one full-length album (2007’s ‘Mieli Maassa’) and one EP (2010’s ‘Saimaata ei sanoilla selitä’), Varjosielu has demonstrated a meticulous, considered approach to delivering his art. Each release is carefully crafted, the musicianship executed with precision and care to ensure that Häive’s singular vision is delivered without compromise.

2017 bears witness to the next chapter in the evolving journey that is Häive – Eisenwald has the honour of unveiling the long-awaited second full-length album from this most focussed of acts. Entitled simply ‘Iätön’ (Finnish for ‘Ageless’), this painstakingly crafted recording represents a true journey into the very soul of the band. Each element of Häive has been taken to the next level – the driving-yet-delicate guitars, impassioned vocals, powerful percussion and deeply thought-through themes, every aspect has been refined further in order to draw the listener into Häive’s world.

And as for this world – it is a place of loss and remembrance, winter-stripped trees giving way to the cold bare earth, chill-worn soils that have born witness to the eternal cycles of nature. Life, death, rebirth and renewal, the ageless landscapes of the north have seen it all and its stories dwell deep within – but never forgotten by those who would stop to tell these tales. These are the tales told by Häive across the breadth of this captivating musical opus.

All music and artwork photos on ‘Iätön’ by Varjosielu. Recorded by the band and then mastered by Greg Chandler at Priory Recording Studios, UK (prioryrecordingstudios.co.uk). The album was designed by Misanthropic Art (misanthropic-art.com) with handwritten songtitles by Marie Nosper. The new Häive logo drawn by Christophe Szpajdel (http://www.lordofthelogos.com).

1. Iätön – Ageless
2. Turma – Ruin
3. Lapin Kouta – Kouta From Lapland
4. Kuku, kultainen käkeni – Sing My Golden Bird
5. Tuulen sanat – The Spell Of Wind
6. Salojen saari – Esoteric Isle
7. Tuonen lehto, öinen lehto – Grove Of Tuoni, Grove Of Evening
8. Virsi tammikuinen – Song Of January

With ‘Turma’ we are streaming the first track from the upcoming album: https://haive.bandcamp.com/album/i-t-n

‘Iätön’ is set for a release on November 24th on CD/Tape/Digital and December 1st on Vinyl.
Pre-order is available now:
» Eisenwald online store
» Bandcamp

Follow HÄIVE:

This entry was posted in Communique, Häive, Main, Music streams, Releases. Bookmark the permalink.