Inkantation of a new, old world – MOSAIC inflames ‘Secret Ambrosian Fire’

With their debut full-length album, MOSAIC explore the sacred traditions of their Thuringian homelands, reinvigorating myths and legends which are as ancient as the mountains they stem from.

SECRET AMBROSIAN FIRE draws heavily on the traditional lore of the Hörselberge, a mountain chain situated in the most mystical of all German regions. Legend has it that this is the place where purgatory is located and where Mother Hulda leads the wild hunt through stormy winter nights. To the initiated, the weeds and flowers growing in these mountains can even be the key to the otherworld. MOSAIC use this fiery, flowery lore to forge an aural bond between this world and the world of our forebears, while at the same time transitioning into a wholly new phase of their creative endeavours.

MOSAIC feed the SECRET AMBROSIAN FIRE with their love of poetry, weaving their own interpretations of works by poets such as Georg Trakl, Else Lasker-Schüler and Paul Celan, as well as more regionally known artists like Hanns Cibulka, into their songs.

Widely known for their daring, shapeshifting approach to creating music, MOSAIC now go a step further to create an album that is ultimately uncompromising. Reduced song structures leave space for the atmosphere to unfold, and every single song is allowed to bloom in its unique manner.

MOSAIC invited several highly distinguished guest artists to contribute to and make their own mark on this inimitable record.

SECRET AMBROSIAN FIRE is an offering of experimental ambient soundscapes, traditional motifs and bewitching incantations, shaken by eruptions of masterfully crafted black metal. To put it into one word: SECRET AMBROSIAN FIRE is SUPREME THURINGIAN FOLKLORE.

Recorded at House of Inkantation MMXIII – MMXIX – Gotha
Mixed and Mastered by Markus Stock at Klangschmiede Studio E | September MMXIX
Cover Artwork: Jose Gabriel Alegría Sabogal
Layout: Martin van Valkenstijn
Label: Eisenwald


  1. Am Teufelsacker (5:55)
  2. Brimstone Blossoms (3:43)
  3. Cloven Fires (3:28)
  4. She-Water (5:11)
  5. Ambrosia XIX (5:34)
  6. Wetterdistel (4:44)
  7. Coal Black Salt (4:15)
  8. The Devil’s Place (10:17)
  9. Im Kohlensud (5:24)

SECRET AMBROSIAN FIRE will be released as the following aural versions:

Digital Release – Length: 48min
CD and MC Edition incl. additional interludes for each track and bonustrack – Length: 64min
Vinyl Edition incl. Spoken song introductions by Schwadorf of Empyrium – Length: 49min


This entry was posted in Communique, Main, Mosaic, Releases. Bookmark the permalink.